Yerevan is the capital of Armenia and the largest city in the country.

Yerevan is one of the oldest continuously inhabited cities in the world and has been the capital of Armenia since its independence. Yerevan also served as the capital of Soviet Armenia and the First Republic of Armenia. It’s a modern metropolis with its own universities, famous historical monuments as well many popular restaurants. Gyumri is the second-largest city in the country and Vanadzor is the third.

Other historical capitals of the Armenian Kingdom include Van (Tushpa), Ani, Armavir, Yervandashat, Artashat, Tigranakert, Vagharshapat, Dvin, Bagaran, Shirakavan, and Kars.